not so good news.

Well, we got the test results back today. It was a lot faster than I expected, but the number was lower than Doc wanted. Her progesterone was 9.7 and he wanted at least 12, so we’re starting with the Clomid right off the bat. It’s going to make things more expensive because she’ll have to take that, then have an ultrasound mid-cycle, then–assuming everything looks good at that point–an injection at home to release the egg and back to the doctor the next day. Her thyroid and prolactin are normal, though. At least that’s good, right?

Firefly told me when I got home from work that the nurse had called and let me listen to the message. I cried. I feel so silly. It’s just a test result. What the hell am I going to be like once we really get into this? I think part of it is just that everything has been going so smoothly up to this point and this is the first real snag we’ve hit. So far everything else has been great and I felt really good after meeting Doc on Monday. Knowing that the expense is going to be so much higher doesn’t help, either. Here’s hoping that we get lucky on the first try…

I won’t hold my breath.

4 Responses to “not so good news.”


  1. 1 cymru523 August 22, 2008 at 7:47 pm

    Best of luck with a positive on your first try. The whole trying thing is a very emotional experience which you don’t fully grasp until its begun. I hope it goes smoothly for you both.

  2. 2 bluedaisyus August 22, 2008 at 8:24 pm

    Thank you so much. I’m hoping for a positive, but I’m not holding my breath. We’ve had a few friends who got it right away and others who took years, but it’s so different when you see it from the outside. I’m sure I’m going to be a mess, but it will be worth it.

  3. 3 linda August 23, 2008 at 1:25 pm

    I’m passing my quick-conceive-fairy-dust on to you guys….

  4. 4 bluedaisyus August 23, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    yay! i hope it works! 😀


Leave a Reply

Tweets

NaBloPoMo

November 2010


