another uncle update

We had a nice lunch with Firefly’s parents, along with Bennder and girlfriend-who-still-does-not-have-a-nickname. It was the first time she’s met the parents, or any family for that matter. After lunch we all headed over to the hospital to meet up with the rest of the family and take turns visiting with Firefly’s uncle. He’s still in the SI.CU so you have to be buzzed back, then wash your hands in a special room before going in to visit. Firefly went back with her mom, then Bennder and their dad, and I ended up going back by myself. It was good to see him awake, but he’s still a little agitated and they did do the trach. The staples are gone now, though, which was good to see. It’s the first time Firefly’s mom has made it down to visit, and she was understandably pretty shaken up seeing her big brother like that.

After the visit a lot of the family came back to our house. The cousins came with their three boys, as well as Firefly’s parents, Bennder and girlfriend-who-still-does-not-have-a-nickname, and of course us. It was really great to see everyone and spend time with them, although it’s been a pretty exhausting day all around, I think. Firefly got a ride home from work from a coworker this morning so I didn’t end up having to get up early, but of course I slept restlessly because I was afraid I would oversleep and leave her stranded in the cold wondering where I was. She also came home early. She was trying to be quiet so she didn’t wake me, but I heard her open the door and walk around and I freaked out a bit when I saw what time it was. At least that also meant that she got to go to bed earlier, but she still only got about 6 hours of sleep, or thereabouts, before she had to get up and get ready.

I don’t have to work in the morning because I have to pick her up from work and take her to get her license back, but that still means I have to get up early–earlier than normal, actually. I’m thinking a nap might be in order for the both of us…

0 Responses to “another uncle update”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Tweets

NaBloPoMo

November 2010


