turkey?

Just one more day of work and then I have a four day weekend. I think I’m going to be able to get everything done so that I can leave early for the US and not have to go back in, which is great–especially since I spent part of today dealing with some unexpected things.

I’m hoping I can also finish all of the things I need to for school before we head out of town on Friday morning. I really don’t want to take homework with me, but I may need to.

We had a turkey in our basement freezer, so I pulled it out today to thaw. I’m going to make it on Thursday. It’ll be my first real attempt at cooking one, so we’ll see how it goes. We made one last year in our roaster, but I wasn’t in charge and I’m clueless about how to make good gravy. It should be interesting. Maybe I’ll just leave the gravy to Firefly, she’s much better at that sort of thing. We figure we can always shred whatever is left and have some yummy sandwiches as it’s a little bigger than we need for two people. Anyone hungry?

2 Responses to “turkey?”


  1. 1 Sam November 26, 2008 at 9:22 am

    oh I wish I was close enough for leftovers. We never have any since there is so many people at thanksgiving and I always miss that. Oh my grandmother’s secret of good gravy is to use the potato water. When you drain the water off keep some and mix your flour in it use this mixture as your gravy base but the roasting pan on the stove top and add the flour mixture to the dripping mixing constantly. Have a happy thanksgiving and good luck at the ultra sound.

  2. 2 bluedaisyus November 26, 2008 at 11:33 pm

    I wish you were close enough, too. I’d love to meet you in person!

    I’ll have to try the potato water tip, since it looks like I’ll be attempting the gravy after all…


Leave a Reply

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Tweets

NaBloPoMo

November 2010


