lots of updates.

Last night we went out to dinner with the dear friends I mentioned in my we-don’t-know-what-we’re-doing-for-New-Year’s-Eve post. It was funny because Firefly texted to say that we were at the restaurant and tell them where our table was, and got a text back saying “roger that, Firefly.” Okay, well, we thought it was funny. Actually, I didn’t realize either of them were following the blog (hello!), but apparently they were hoping they were the dear friends.

We had a great time catching up with them and got a fun little gift they picked up for us on the Appa.lachian Trail. It’s a bright orange handkerchief with all sorts of funny safety tips. They said we’ll have to use it when we go on an outdoor adventure with them. That’s one thing we’re going to definitely have to try to do this year: meet up with them somewhere in between here and there for a camping weekend. We’ve gone on quite a few weekend kayaking trips with just the four of us, and we always have a great time.

Bean came over today and the three of us got the first coat of mud on in the bathroom. She’s coming over tomorrow afternoon to put the second coat on with Firefly. Yesterday afternoon we went to the hardware store to price some things, and we chalked out where the shelves and closet rods will go up in the closet which gave me a better idea of how it’s going to be situated when we’re all done. I’m not at all a visual person like Firefly is, so it’s a lot harder for me to imagine those kinds of things on my own. We’re going to have so much more room for things than the old closet, although it’s not as much as we were hoping because there’s some space inside the door that we won’t be able to do anything with. I’m thinking maybe we can get some kind of hanger for belts or all her hats or something that will fit there without being too obtrusive. We’re doubling up all the rods, so I’m trying to figure out the best way to leave some space for longer things. I think I’ve figured out what I’d like to do on my side, although Firefly is leaning toward not doing anything on her side. We really don’t have many full-length items anyway and she has less than me since she owns no dresses, and she figures she can just put stuff in another closet if she has to.

I also made my dinner tonight, since it got put off yesterday due to our dinner double date. I thought it turned out really well. I made chicken and dumplings, which Firefly says wasn’t really dumplings because I used those big fat frozen noodles that are almost like homemade, but that’s neither here nor there. I cooked up some chicken with garlic, added chicken stock, lots of black pepper and the noodles and let it simmer for a while, then added a mixed veggie blend of corn, peas, carrots, and green beans. She wasn’t a big fan of the corn and carrots in it, although she would have liked them on the side. Oh, well. I thought it was very tasty and loved it with the veggies. It was super easy and something I can make again (although maybe I’ll just use peas next time). I might even try to make my own noodles! How’s that for adventurous?

Winter quarter officially starts tomorrow for me. This is my last quarter, and I’ll be graduating in March, just after my birthday. I’m ready to be done, and I know Firefly is ready, too. It takes up so much of my time and really cuts into the time I have to do things around the house.

We’re one week into the wait tomorrow. We’ll be testing a week from tomorrow, unless she starts first–which has, unfortunately, been the pattern. At least that’s meant that we’re not having to spend a ton on testers. The wait has been terrible for me this time around. I just want to be able to test now.

Firefly went back to work tonight. It’s been so nice having her here the last two weeks. I’m going to really miss having here here next to me…

0 Responses to “lots of updates.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Tweets

NaBloPoMo

November 2010


