food is fun.

Let me just say, as I think I have before, that I am not good at grocery shopping. I get distracted easily and annoy Firefly, who is very much a “get in and get out” shopper, but today we had one of our better trips. We made sure we ate before we went so I wasn’t distracted by hunger, and I did my best to tag along and not get distracted or in the way. That woman is a monster shopper. She makes lists based on what’s on sale and what we have coupons for, so we save a lot of money. We hadn’t been in about a month, other than quick trips for fresh fruit and the like, so it was a big expensive adventure nonetheless.

After we put the groceries away we started on tomorrow’s dinner. We’re having spaghetti with meatballs, so Firefly had me help her make the meatballs. I don’t think I’ve every actually done it, and it was pretty fun just messing around in the kitchen with her. We got them all made, freezing half of the meatballs for later, and the sauce is now simmering and getting yummy. I can’t wait!

We also took some time to just hang out and cuddle on the couch watching a couple of shows we had recorded, which was nice, and I had a tasty ice cream snack. Now she’s off at work and I’m spending some time on my math homework and getting some things together for my portfolio. Not a bad day, all in all–and I was much less grumpy.

3 Responses to “food is fun.”


  1. 1 bohemiangrrl February 23, 2009 at 8:41 am

    I need your wife to do my shopping then. I despise grocery shopping and always end up wanding around aimlessly and leaving without half the crap I needed because I forgot to get it. This is after walking back and forth across the stor 6 times because the thing I do remember is always on the other end of the damn store….

  2. 2 breefromprojectkjetil February 23, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    Great food adventures. Can we all come to your house for virtual dinner?

  3. 3 bluedaisyus February 23, 2009 at 11:20 pm

    Yes, she’s truly a sight to behold. I’m of the wandering back and forth camp myself when left to my own devices.

    Come on over! 🙂


Leave a Reply

February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Tweets

NaBloPoMo

November 2010


