what’s that?

Another evening, and another nap for Firefly. I took advantage of the time by doing some cleaning in my office. Things are looking better, although it was a pretty big mess so there’s still progress to be made. I’ve gotten rid of some old things that I don’t need and organized some others a little more. It’s starting to look a lot less like a bunch of piles of stuff and more like an actual office.

So no lunch meat, no soft cheeses, fish in moderation, blah blah blah for Firefly. She’s been really good about not eating that stuff and eating lots of fruits and veggies, getting the things she needs and eating a variety of foods from the different groups. She called me on her way to work tonight and said “hey. So…blue cheese is bad…right?” I think so. Crap. She’s been having blue cheese dressing on her salads and with some of her veggies. I know they say it’s fine as long as it’s pasteurized, but of course I can’t find anything anywhere on the bottle that says one way or the other. Of course. It should be fine, right?

4 Responses to “what’s that?”


  1. 1 linda March 31, 2009 at 5:34 am

    I ate brie, feta, lunchmeat, peanut butter, tuna, seafood, all of it. and if the soft cheese is made with pasteurized milk–and unpasteurized is illegal in the states–then you should be okay. just don’t go overboard on it. the soft cheese/deli meat thing is because of listeria, but that’s pretty rare. I did watch what seafood I ate and tried not to have it more than once a week. they say to not eat peanut butter in the 3rd trimester because of allergies, but wouldn’t staying away from it help cause an allergy? I dunno.

    the point is, a lot of those warnings are just to cover their tracks in case something goes wrong. they can say “I told you so” and you can’t sue. just keep it all in moderation and definitely don’t freak out about it if she forgets and has some blue cheese dressing..

  2. 2 Sam March 31, 2009 at 9:03 am

    ditto…The whole cheese thing confuses me since most cheese (except for some fancy ones) are pasturized. I just don’t get it. Also I am pretty sure that people and Europe are still having babies…they only eat unpast. cheese. Sometimes this whole covering your ass shit is annoying. If it is in a salad dressing I am sure it is pasturized.

  3. 3 Tori March 31, 2009 at 5:19 pm

    I have cheated on the lunch meat a couple times, and the hot dogs, and all I could stomach for most of the first trimester was peanut butter sandwiches. I’m not giving up my Reese cups either! The only salad dressing I heard was a no-no was caesar because it could be made with raw egg. I think bleu cheese dressing is ok. The thing that has honestly been the hardest on me to give up is the cold medicines… which right now I really really wish I had!

  4. 4 bluedaisyus March 31, 2009 at 11:18 pm

    It is actually legal, it’s only illegal to sell it across state lines packaged for use. Since I seriously doubt our store brand is made and sold only here, we’re going with the assumption that our dressing is pasteurized. We’ll just have to make sure to avoid the fancy-pants dressings.


Leave a Reply

March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Tweets

NaBloPoMo

November 2010


