lots of baby stuff. and a little cake stuff.

Okay, first of all a big, huge congratulations to Bree from Project Kjetil. After much trying and heartbreak, she has some news to be joyful about: beautiful Beta numbers that are doubling just as they should. Sending lots of good vibes your way!

This was a big baby day for us, too. I got home from work to find a box on the front steps. It was a package from Firefly’s work health initiative that she had registered for earlier this week after a coworker told her about it. We opened up the box to find the Mayo Clinic pregnancy book, the Dr Spock baby book, a bunch of other little booklets, a small insulated cooler for carrying bottles and other assorted things that’s actually really cool, a onsie, and a bib–all for free. Pretty awesome!

Then we headed out to the OB’s office. We had to wait around for awhile, as seems to be the case generally when going to the doctor. Finally we were ushered into the back where Firefly had to do the requisite peeing and weighing and blood pressure stuff. She also had to have one of the tests from the last time redone, because apparently the new lab that the doctor switched to didn’t do two of the tests she had requested with the last one.

And then we got to hear the heartbeat again. I swear that’s the most beautiful sound in the world.

She said everything looks and sounds great, and Firefly is gaining weight exactly as she should. We’re scheduled back in four weeks to have the monthly follow-up exam, and also the 20-week ultrasound. We should be able to find out what we’re having–assuming the baby cooperates!

I also had my cake class tonight. I got there a little early–traffic was actually good this evening–and was the first one there. I decided to just take my stuff on back to the classroom and set up my space, and when I walked in the teacher sad “oh, good, I was hoping to be able to talk to you.” Apparently another store nearby has a teacher that’s leaving and contacted my instructor to see if she was interested. She already teaches quite a few and doesn’t have room in her schedule for more, but asked if I would be interested. So now I have that to think about as well. Firefly says she’s fine with it and it would be nice to earn a bit of extra money–plus I think it would be fun–but with so much going on and getting ready for the baby I’m just not sure…

4 Responses to “lots of baby stuff. and a little cake stuff.”


  1. 1 Kristen May 29, 2009 at 9:20 am

    gotta love free baby stuff. 🙂

  2. 2 thiswillbe May 29, 2009 at 11:45 am

    Congrats on the good appointment! And that’s awesome that they want you to teach a class! Even if you decide to not do it, it’s neat that you were asked.

  3. 3 breefromprojectkjetil May 29, 2009 at 11:49 am

    Hey, thanks for the mad shout out.

    I’m so glad that everything is progressing well with your wee babe, and it makes me smile to think about you getting to hear the heartbeat. When M was pregnant with Kiddo, that was the first moment it all became real to me… when I heard that awesome whooshing. Nothing like it.

    Also… mad props to you on the class offer. You are going to make some KICK ASS birthday cakes, I can just tell.

  4. 4 Badger May 29, 2009 at 3:21 pm

    That’s way cool of her job to send those items! I wish you could get a recording of the heartbeat so we all could hear it. Oh, and you’d be great at teaching well.. anything.


Leave a Reply

May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Tweets

NaBloPoMo

November 2010


