more cake! and something else…

Well, tonight was my cake class, so it’s time for show and tell, but first…

GUESS WHAT? She felt it! She felt the baby move! How awesome is that! She’s pretty sure anyway. She was watching TV and felt kind of squished up, so she shifted and then she felt this little flip-flop. Eek! She hasn’t felt it again yet, but still. So cool!

And now for the cake stuff…

I don’t think I posted anything from last week’s class, but really it was just learning some string work and ruffles and stuff like that.

P6110020

P6110024

And now I remember why I didn’t post pictures last week; I didn’t have any good ones!

This week we made a fondant rose:

rose bud

rose bud

medium rose

medium rose

full rose

full rose

Okay, ignore that little paper cup in the last picture. It’s just there to keep the petals from drooping while it dries. I really liked making the fondant roses, and I think they look a lot more realistic than the buttercream or royal ones.

When we finished with the roses we moved on to the cake. We covered it in fondant, then added a bow and whatever decorations we wanted:

covered

covered

starting the bow

starting the bow

some detail

some detail

the final product

the final product

I think my coworker will be very happy with her birthday cake, what do you think?

I need to figure out what I’m going to do for my final cake in two weeks. It has to be stacked layers–either directly on top of each other or using pillars. Fun! Except that I have no idea what I’m going to do yet…

4 Responses to “more cake! and something else…”


  1. 1 wishinghopingpraying June 19, 2009 at 1:36 am

    How exciting! I hope you get to feel the baby from the outside soon. Your cakes are just beautiful. Those classes are hard, you have a natural talent for this 🙂

  2. 3 emily June 19, 2009 at 11:54 am

    AMAZING!!! Now i really want to take these classes!

    • 4 bluedaisyus June 19, 2009 at 11:16 pm

      You totally should take the classes! They are really fun, and not very expensive (and they’ve been “on sale” every single month I’ve taken them). I’m really loving it. I can’t believe I only have two left and I’m done!


Leave a Reply

June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Tweets

NaBloPoMo

November 2010


