what a busy weekend.

Yesterday was the pride parade and festival here, and it was so much fun. The parade itself took around an hour to pass, and then we spent almost four more hours at the festival before heading to Dee and Pia’s house for some grilling and hanging out. We were all hoping to get a little swimming in while we were at it, but their pool isn’t ready yet. Something to do with a leaking pump and floccing. Sad me.

This morning we took my dad out for a yummy brunch with my mom and sister, and then Bean came over to the house for a bit to help out with sanding down the doors for the bathroom and getting the first coat of polyurethane on the ones for the closet. We would have liked to have done all three doors, but there just isn’t room to set them all up in the basement and we don’t want to try to polyurethane in the carport. It’s been pretty breezy and gets dusty in there–not to mention at least one bug that landed on one of the doors when we had them out there to sand them.

Dee also came over for a bit this afternoon to mess with the lawnmower engine with Firefly, being a bit more of a small engine expert than us having done that in the army. We need to get new choke and throttle cables because the ones we have are just a little too short for the new engine, but once that’s done we should be up and running.

After they headed out to their respective abodes Firefly and I made dinner and relaxed for a bit, and then I sanded down the doors and put on a  second coat while she napped. As long as everything is good I should be able to flip the doors over and do the other side when I get home from the gym tomorrow. I’d like to be able to get started on the main door by Tuesday, and it would be awesome to have them up by this weekend. We’ll probably need some assistance from my dad for that, and I’m not sure if he’ll be able to. Bean says she’ll try to come over to help us get the last of the stuff done in the bathroom quickly so we can move on to other things–like the wall in our bedroom, painting, and starting on the nursery!

On the baby front, Firefly is definitely feeling movement now. She’s felt it at least once every day since Thursday. She called me on her way to work saying she was feeling it again. So awesome. This Wednesday is the big U/S! I was pretty nervous about it, but now that she’s definitely feeling something I’ve been feeling less of that and a lot more excitement. I can’t believe that on Wednesday evening I may very well be able to say if we’ll be welcoming a little boy or little girl into our family.

2 Responses to “what a busy weekend.”


  1. 1 bohemiangrrl June 22, 2009 at 8:15 am

    Would have been nice if they’d advertised that they switches weekends for Pride. I was prepping for next weekend. Sorry I wasn’t there.

    • 2 bluedaisyus June 22, 2009 at 11:38 pm

      Yeah, it was a little weird. I know they made a big deal last year of saying they were going to be moving it to two separate festivals, but I didn’t hear much recently about it either.


Leave a Reply

June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Tweets

NaBloPoMo

November 2010


