20 weeks!

I can’t believe it! Today Firefly is 20 weeks pregnant. We are, quite literally, at the halfway mark of this pregnancy. It’s so amazing to be at this point. And a bit scary and overwhelming, truth be told. I can’t wait for this little guy to be here, but I feel like we have so much to do! We do have so much to do!

At least I finished the closet doors. I’ll be putting the first coat on one side of the other door tonight, and the second and third tomorrow. It’ll be nice to get those done. Of course then I have the other side of the door and all of the baseboard and trim to do, and I’m on my own since Firefly isn’t supposed to be doing the staining and polyurethane because of the fumes. Still. One more thing done is one step closer to other, more important things. Like a nursery.

I also might play around with some icing tonight. I have an idea for my cake this week thanks to Firefly, who is my go-to person for ideas because she’s awesome and always gives me great inspiration. So here’s the idea: since I can’t take the cake in to work on Friday with it being a holiday here and all, I’ll be taking it with us when we go to visit Firefly’s family over the weekend to celebrate her cousin’s birthday. So, since his birthday–and therefore the big shindig–are happening on the fourth, why not go all out and decorate it 4th of July-style. A bit cheesy maybe, but fitting. And I think it’ll be fun.

So, here’s the question: I have an idea for the bottom tier involving blue fondant and white stars/fireworks (if I can pull it off), but the top tier I’m a little more up in the air on. I’m going to try to drape a flag, but I’ll need to do something to cover where the flag starts. I was thinking do some yellow roses to cover it–you know, kind of like a yellow ribbon tip of the hat–but Firefly thinks that’s more of a memorial day thing and isn’t sure it would look good, and the back half of the cake still won’t really have anything. If I don’t do that, though, then I’m sort of at a loss. I don’t want to do what I’m doing on the bottom on both layers. So…do I do the yellow roses, or do I keep trying to come up with something else? Or do I say to heck with it, it’s the back and no one is going to be looking there anyway? Or does someone else have a better idea?

Okay, I lied. That’s three questions. I’ll leave you to ponder them while I work on the door.

1 Response to “20 weeks!”


  1. 1 Tori June 27, 2009 at 11:52 pm

    I think the yellow roses would be really pretty. I mean, we have service men and women to thank for our freedom, right? 🙂 I can’t wait to see pictures of it when you finish, because your cakes are awesome!

    And really, don’t stress about little dude’s nursery too much. My guy is three weeks old tomorrow and he hasn’t used his yet except for a few diaper changes. You have time 🙂


Leave a Reply

June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Tweets

NaBloPoMo

November 2010


