big fancy finale!

Well, I spent the last few nights making flowers:

roses

Fondant and gunpaste roses.

And baking the cakes and covering them:

Ready to go!

Ready to go!

All in preparation for my big fancy finale cake.

Wanna see it? Do ya? Okay, here it is (although, like all of my cake shots, the lighting in there is horrible so please excuse any weirdness as a result of me trying to find a balance somehow):

cake-flag

Front, with the flag.

The other side, with fondant roses.

The other side, with roses.

And here are some more detailed shots:

Flag detail

Flag detail.

Top of the...well, top.

Top of the...well, top.

Back of the top: roses.

Back of the top: roses.

Bottom tier.

Bottom tier.

Bottom tier detail.

Bottom tier detail.

If you look, you’ll see that I did the border on both tiers in buttercream using the star tip. Everything else you see is fondant or a fondant/gumpaste blend.

I think it turned out pretty well, and pretty much exactly how I was imagining it. There are only two things I wish were different: I wish I had made the flag a little longer so it could have been more draped and swoopy…hopefully you know what I mean; and the fondant on the top tier kind of…cracked? Not really cracked but something like that, where it comes around over the edge on the top tier. Almost like it got too dry or overworked or something, but it wasn’t. I don’t know. I was able to mostly cover it with the flag and you can’t really see it in the pictures, but I wish it hadn’t done it. Just saying.

8 Responses to “big fancy finale!”


  1. 1 wishinghopingpraying July 2, 2009 at 11:34 pm

    Fantastic! I am impressed 🙂

  2. 2 Two*True July 3, 2009 at 9:46 am

    Awesome!! 🙂

  3. 3 kristen July 3, 2009 at 10:38 am

    wow! it looks great!

  4. 4 thiswillbe July 3, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    Wow, that is awesome! I am in awe of your skills!

  5. 5 Tori July 4, 2009 at 10:32 am

    Wow! That’s fantastic! WTG! 🙂

  6. 6 she July 5, 2009 at 7:17 pm

    beautiful! i’m so proud of you!

  7. 7 mommie2be July 6, 2009 at 8:03 am

    It came out GREAT!

  8. 8 bluedaisyus July 7, 2009 at 11:57 pm

    Thanks for the wonderful complements, everyone! Not bad for a cheesy 4th cake, huh?


Leave a Reply

July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Tweets

NaBloPoMo

November 2010


