i love evenings like this.

I must say I have had a very lovely evening with my wife. We sanded down the wood that will go up on the wall outside the bathroom to replace what we took out when we moved the doorway. Wow, that was a long, odd sentence. I’m not even sure it makes sense. But that’s not the important part; the important part of it is that we were a little productive.

We also had a very yummy dinner. Did I tell you about the chicken we had at Firefly’s cousin’s house on the 4th of July? How it is the best chicken ever? Yes, I believe I did. What I don’t believe I mentioned, though, was that he sent us home with a crazy amount of it to eat later. Like no less than 15 chicken quarters. No, I’m not kidding. Well, we ate a few pieces, but we were never going to make it through all or it so we took the rest and pulled the meat off the bones. We froze some of the meat (four whole freezer bags worth), used some of it to make some chicken burritos, and made chicken tenders with some more.

What we also did was take the bones and cook them down with some carrots and garlic and spices to make our own chicken broth. We froze it in ice cube trays so we could thaw it easily later for some tasty homemade meals.

Tonight we heated up some broth with carrots and left it cooking for a while, then threw in some frozen noodles and left it cooking on pretty high boil for about 10 minutes, then simmered it for another 20 or so (while we went outside to sand the wood). When we came back in we shredded up some of the chicken and put it in the pot to get nice and hot, added some more garlic (you can never have too much garlic), threw in some other spices, and had this for dinner:

P7170079

Oh my goodness, so good. So good. Firefly had two helpings–hey, she’s eating for two, right?–and we’ve still got enough left for another meal.

Then we watched a movie.

Now I just need to find something to do with the buttermilk in the fridge before it goes bad…

6 Responses to “i love evenings like this.”


  1. 1 she July 18, 2009 at 1:50 am

    did you get my email?

    • 2 bluedaisyus July 18, 2009 at 11:39 pm

      I did, but I got sucked into the link you sent and never made it back to reply, sorry! I have some more things to think about, but I may be emailing you again soon. 🙂

  2. 3 linda July 18, 2009 at 9:51 am

    buttermilk? you should made biscuits for the chicken noodles….


Leave a Reply

July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Tweets

NaBloPoMo

November 2010


