fun weekend!

Yesterday was Dee’s birthday. She and Pia bought a house this year and it has an above-ground pool, so it was a bit of a pool party. I decided to make a cake to celebrate:

P8010007

Firefly helped me out. It was her idea to put little wet footprints on the steps–which were made out of gumpaste and were a two-person job to put together, let me just tell you:

P8010009-2

Firefly made the green noodle and the red floater for the can of Bud that I made (which was also her idea), and I made a raft and beach ball, all out of fondant:

P8010010

She even put the little hole in the ends of the noodle. The water was just a thin layer of piping gel that I colored blue:

P8010013

I got lots of great comments about it!

Today we slept in a bit, then went out to meet some friends’ week-old baby. I had promised the new mom a cake a while ago and hadn’t made good yet, so I thought this would be a great opportunity. New parents can always use something to fill their bellies, right? She wanted fondant with circles, so I gave her that and threw in some hearts to celebrate the occasion:

P8020051

P8020049

It was a six-inch cake and super easy, and I got to spend lots of time holding (and photographing) this little beauty:

_MG_3983

Priceless.

1 Response to “fun weekend!”


  1. 1 Liz August 4, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    Love the pics! I can’t wait to see (and get) more of baby C!


Leave a Reply

August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Tweets

NaBloPoMo

November 2010


