ready for home.

Well, we’ve had a pretty good last day at the hospital, with visits from my parents, Bennder, and Firefly’s best friend. We’ll be heading home tomorrow, and we are all looking forward to it, I think. I know I can’t wait to get him home, although I must admit I’m a bit nervous about it. I am definitely looking forward to sleeping in our bed, although the situation here actually isn’t that bad for me, considering. Firefly’s mom is going to come down and stay with us for a few days, partly to help us out and partly to spend some time bonding with her grandson. She’ll be coming to the hospital in the morning, as will Bennder to give us a hand with everything. Tomorrow he’ll be in his own nursery!

Our poor little guy lost more weight and was down 11.9% total as of last night even though he’d been eating and latching on his own for the last day or so and he still hadn’t pooped since early yesterday morning. We finally caved and gave him about 40mL of formula around 7 this evening. Bennder brought the breast pump Firefly had ordered that happened to arrive at our house today, but of course it needs a lot of prep and boiling of parts before we can use it. The nurse finally offered one and brought a hospital pump, and Firefly was able to get about 70mL total with it. At his last feeding he latched for 10 minutes on each side, plus ate  60 of the 70mL she pumped earlier. Of course, after the fact I was wondering why didn’t we try just pumping and feeding it to him directly in the first place if their concern was that he wasn’t getting enough on his own. But, hindsight and all that. And he’s pooped twice since the formula so I for one am happy about that, although the first time was maybe an hour later so I’m doubtful that the two are actually related since they told us to expect it in 2-3 hours. Who knows.

That was way more information than anyone really wants, isn’t it?

We also got his hospital pictures taken today. My mom mentioned that she hadn’t seen them on the hospital website, but that there was already one for a baby born the day after Monkey. We hadn’t even had a visit from the photographer, which we thought was a little odd but we hadn’t thought too much about it. The next time the nurse came in we mentioned it and she was shocked that it hadn’t happened. She went out to the nurses’ station and talked to the other nurse, and they called the photographer who actually came back to the hospital to take them. They’re up on the website already, too.

Bennder and I took the opportunity to have a little photo shoot of our own with him after the photographer left, and I think we got some good ones. Actually, truth be told I think they’re better that the ones she took, although I’m sure they need some color adjustment that I can’t do very well on my laptop. Then again, so did theirs and she had much better equipment than I do. I’ll try to get some more pictures of him up soon, but here’s one from today:

6 Responses to “ready for home.”


  1. 2 Kristen November 23, 2009 at 10:14 am

    Good luck today. I remember how funny it felt being at my own house with our baby — very surreal. 🙂

  2. 3 wishinghopingpraying November 23, 2009 at 12:31 pm

    Good luck on your first day home!I wish I could fly out there and cuddle him, so precious.

  3. 4 Sam November 23, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    Sounds like you are all set to go home. Did you ask about getting a perscription for a hospital grade pump? If there is medical reason (like not latching or low supply) then most insurance companies will pay for either a hospital grade pump (like the pump n style) or a rental of the ones you use in the hospital (symphony). Ask about that and they may deliver one to your hospital room or to your house and there is no money!!!! Also you want to get the microwave bags to sterilize the pump stuff (you can get them at bru). If you think you will be pumping for a while get extra sheild things so you are not constantly washing them. We now have 4 full sets and it makes life soooooooooo much easier. Hopefully you won’t have to pump and feed like I do but even if it is only for a few weeks it will be worth is.
    As for the nursing then pumping I know it takes forever but it will help the baby learn to latch. It takes twice the time. If you can get a bit of a surplus going then you can have a bottle ready for post nursing and you can give the bottle while firefly pumps. This is how we handle it at our house. If you need any pumping help feel free to email me or send me a message on face book!
    Oh and 70 ml is awesome for milk supply!!!!

  4. 5 Jean November 23, 2009 at 7:46 pm

    He is so adorable. Best of Luck at home tomorrow it will be so nice to relax. I hope Firefly is doing well and tries not to over do it.

  5. 6 Tori November 23, 2009 at 11:52 pm

    For the next few months, baby poop will be a popular topic of thought/conversation. Just a heads up 🙂 And tell Firefly to keep that lactation nurse hotline number handy because it does tend to hit a low point when you come home. My little dude was latching fine and then we were struck down by jaundice, so he had to wear the little light wrap thing, which made it uncomfortable for him to latch on (me and him), and he stopped. I pumped exclusively for about three months, and then one day decided to try again and poof! He latched perfectly and hasn’t stopped since. Also, five bucks on a nipple shield: best purchase EVER. It’s one of the things that taught my guy how to re-latch after his lapse. And if you do end up pumping a lot more and wanting to bottle feed but not mess up the latch, I highly recommend the First Years “BreastFlow” bottles. They’re sold at BRU by the pumps. They even look like little boobs lol. Those also helped with little dude’s latching issue. All godsends! (Wow, can you tell I’m a mommy much?)


Leave a Reply

November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

NaBloPoMo

November 2010


