just some stuff.

I think we’ve pretty much got all of our holiday shopping done, thanks to a trip out with the three of us yesterday and another trip out today solo by me. We still need to try to find something for my brothers’ kids, but we usually just get one thing for the family and I need to get hold of my sister-in-law to ask if there’s anything in particular they’d like. We’ve gotten some frames for our parents and are going to put pictures of Monkey in them as their gifts, which I think they’ll all really like.

I also made a trip to the grocery this afternoon while I was out to get things to make cookies and treats, which I’m hoping to get started on baking tomorrow. I’d also like to get the tree decorated, but we’ll see. I still need to go through a bunch of pictures I’ve taken of Monkey and see if I can use any of them for a holiday card, because we’re really pushing it if we’re going to get them out this year.

On Wednesday morning my dad is coming over to play with Monkey while we go get haircuts, because we are both sorely in need of them. I’m hoping maybe we can take advantage and get some lunch together while we’re out, just the two of us.

Right now Firefly is having a bit of frustration with feeding. Monkey’s doing a lot of cluster feeding during the day, so he’s sometimes eating every hour, and even less on occasion. It’s tough, I think because sometimes she feels like she doesn’t get much real fun time with him. Tonight, though, we made sure that she spent a good long time holding him while he slept to give her a bit of time just enjoying him.  He’s mostly sleeping at nights, but the last few I’ve been up late with him, until after 2am. At least Firefly is able to go to bed at a somewhat decent hour and get some rest while I stay up with him.

2 Responses to “just some stuff.”


  1. 1 Elise December 8, 2009 at 7:48 am

    Sounds like you are finding just the right balance for your family. You are doing great!

  2. 2 Kristen December 8, 2009 at 9:28 am

    My husband used to do that for me — stay up until 2a and let me go to bed around 9p, so then when he went to bed, I got up if she needed me. It works, for a while. It’s harder on the mommy since bf-ing means you always have to be available. I learned to sleep sitting up and spent a lot of time dancing around with our daughter. 🙂


Leave a Reply

December 2009
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Tweets

NaBloPoMo

November 2010


