what a weekend

We were so busy all week long, really. The concerts I’ve been rehearsing for finally came and went, so last week was full of rehearsals and the times I wasn’t in rehearsals I was trying to keep up on things. Firefly and Monkey came to the Saturday show with Bennder and GOB, and he was so good! He didn’t cry at all, and slept through most of the second half on his grandpa blue. The first half I think Firefly, Bennder and GOB all had turns holding him. He made some noise here and there, but it was all happy sounds and who doesn’t love those?

Yesterday was our first Mothers’ Day! We celebrated with lunch and then went for ice cream before I headed out for the afternoon concert. After it was over I went out for an early dinner with my sister and parents. Both my sister and mom sing in the chorus and my dad had volunteered to help out so we were all there together. Firefly had stayed home with Monkey, and Bennder and GOB were also over because Firefly’s parents were in town and stopping by for a visit. They were gone by the time I got home, but everyone had a good time with the respective families, I think.

On Friday Firefly got a card from her parents in the mail, and truth be told I was terribly disappointed that I didn’t get one, too. Cards have never been a big thing in my family, but they are in hers. I secretly hoped that one would come for me on Saturday, that perhaps it had just gotten delayed. No such luck. Well, when I got home from dinner with my family Firefly had something for me. Her mom had a card for me in her purse with Firefly’s, but when she went to mail them she missed mine. She decided to hand-deliver it so I’d have it on Mother’s Day. Oh, I can’t tell you how happy it made me!

I put together a book of photos of Monkey from the time he was born through this month (including some from before he was born) as a gift for Firefly. I showed it to her over the weekend and she really liked it. I’m getting it printed this week–I wanted her to look at it and make sure there weren’t any pictures I missed that she really wanted or duplicate photos or anything like that before I did. I’m actually going to get three, one for each of our parents, too. I thought about getting copies for Bean, and also Bennder and GOB, but I just don’t think I can afford to do that so I may call them and see if they’d want to buy one since the shipping is one rate up to 5 or 6 books, that way I could order them all together.

Oh, and last night poor Monkey had such a hard time going to bed. He was so tired and he would fall asleep with me on the couch, but as soon as I tried to put him in his crib and took my hands away he’d wake and start crying. It took me over four hours–until around 1am–to get him asleep enough to be able to go to bed. He went to sleep much easier tonight, thank goodness. So, maybe finally teething, although today he was tired and really sleepy, and also stuffy. The news said that the pollen is so bad right now that pretty much everyone is feeling it, even people who don’t have allergies it seems. It’s supposed to rain a little tonight which should make things easier on everyone.

And now I’m going to try to get some sleep myself. Without proofreading, even!

0 Responses to “what a weekend”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

May 2010
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

NaBloPoMo

November 2010


