a for real post.

Well, Monkey has definitely reached the clingy stage. He wants to be held by one of us as much as possible, and even when we put him down on the floor to play with him he’ll reach his arms up to us and cry until we either find a suitable game or toy to distract him, or we pick him up. He has also been waking at night on occasion (not every night, he’s always been a very good sleeper, but often enough to be notable), and when I go in he’s half-sitting. As soon as I lift him out of the crib he calms down and goes right back to sleep, usually without needing a bottle. This leads us to believe that he may be teething again since he was behaving similarly last time, although we haven’t been able to feel anything on his gums yet. We’ve also put his crib mattress on the lowest setting because he’s getting too big and mobile to leave it on the middle height and have his mommies feel safe. Which doesn’t really have anything to do with clinginess or teething, but I didn’t really feel like it needed its own paragraph.

He’s also been standing on his own very briefly for the last few days. It first happened on Wednesday while Firefly was at darts. I had called my mom on the computer so we could catch up and she could see him. After the call Monkey and I went outside for a little bit, then spent some time playing on the living room floor. He was standing holding onto the couch and I was sitting on the floor near him, so I held my hands out for him just out of his reach. He turned toward me, let go, and took a shaky step and a half before falling into my hands. The next few days he was letting go of things and standing for 10-15 seconds at a time, but always while he was already standing holding onto something. Most of the time he’s content to lower himself to the ground and crawl to wherever he wants to be. We’ve been playing a little game of let-go-of-the-Monkey that he loves, which consists of me holding him while he’s standing, letting go briefly and either he puts his arms out and flops into me giggling or I catch him as soon as he starts to tumble.

Today Firefly was sitting with him on the loveseat and I was on the couch. He was look at me, smiling and laughing, when all of a sudden he just stood himself up. It wasn’t for very long since the couch isn’t a very sturdy thing to balance on, but it was the first time he actually stood himself up. I think this boy is going to be ready to take off any time now. My mom might have been right, he may very well  be walking before she comes home at the beginning of next month. Then again, he may spend another month working on standing, who knows. We’ll just have to wait and see!

2 Responses to “a for real post.”


  1. 1 Kristen July 26, 2010 at 11:39 am

    Gotta love when they are clingy! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

NaBloPoMo

November 2010


